Saturday, September 29, 2012


UNDER 21 HURLING: Our Under 21 Hurlers qualified for the Eastern Final with a thrilling 3-20 to 4-15 win over a gallant Eirns Own team after extra time. Ferrybank made a brillant start to the game with every player on top in their department and after 20 minutes Ferrybank led by 2-8 to no score. Eoin Buggy got the opening goal after 2 minutes and points from Mark O' Brien,  Darren Hickey, Damien Ahern, Mark Russell extended the lead. Cormac Heffernan got the second goal, skipping away from defenders and rifling the ball to the net. Further points from Mark Russell(3) and Eric Corcoran gave the Villagers a 2-8 to 0-0 lead. But in the final ten minutes of the half, slack defending from Ferrybank handed three soft goals to put Eirns Own right back into the game and at half time Ferrybank lead 2-9 to 3-2. With Eirns Own having the wind in their backs, they started to make inroads into the Ferybank lead and three unanswered scores put the minimum between them. Mark Russell was solid with the free taking, keeping the scoreboard ticking over, and midway through the second half, Cormac Heffernan got his second and Ferrybanks third when he pulled on the sliothar and drilled it to the net. Eirns Own kept going and reduced the gap to 2 points with minutes to go. Eirns Own got a fourth goal to lead, but Mark Russell sent over an injury time free to bring the game level at 3-15 to 4-12 and force extra time.
In extra time Ferrybank outscored Eirns Own by three points to one with Mark Russell and Greg Murphy contributing, and in the second period, Ferrybanks defence held firm throughout, repelling any Eirns Own attacks, and Mark Russell hit over two further points, to see Ferrybank through to the Eastern Final. This was a great win or the team, with everyone playing their part, and no doubt this stiff test the lads had today will stand to them for the final which will be either against Passage or Ballyduff. Thanks to all who came along who came along and supported the team. TEAM: Oisin McCaothmaoil, Seamus Burchill, Aidan Sinnott, Stephen Quinn, Shane Sullivan, Damien Ahern(-1), Tommy Carew, Luke Flynn, Mark O' Brien(-2), Eric Corcoran(-1), Sam Lawless, Mark Russell(-14), Cormac Heffernan(2-0), Darren Hickey(-1), Eoin Buggy(1-0), Greg Murphy(-1), Dean Phelan, Thomas Lane, Jamie Diggins, Greg Kinsella.