Monday, November 21, 2016

Ferrybank GAA - Weekly Notes

The Ferrybank/Erin’s Own combined U21 side qualified for the final of the Eddie O' Donnell sponsored competition with a ten point win over Mount Sion at Walsh Park last Saturday afternoon. A superb second-half performance from the combined side, which yielded 2-16, paved the way for this victory.
It didn’t look great early on as Mount Sion were sharper and had three points on the board in quick succession, but Eoin Daly settled the nerves with two points from play as the combined side began to get into the game. 
Points were traded from each side with Mark O' Brien and Sam O' Neill scoring for Ferrybank/Erin’s Own. However, some poor frees conceded kept Mount Sion ahead and when the lively Eoin Daly popped over another fine score, Ferrybank/Erin’s Own trailed by one. Yet again however, soft frees cost the team as Mount Sion scored two unanswered points to leave them ahead 0-09 to 0-06 at the break.
Ferrybank/Erin’s Own came out all guns blazing in the second-half, and in the opening two minutes points from Eoin Daly, Mark O' Brien, Robbie Carew and MJ Sutton had the combined side ahead for the first time. A crucial turning point in the game came when a Mount Sion attack looked like leading to a certain goal, but Jono Brown pulled off a brilliant point blank save to prevent a green flag being raised. From there on, Ferrybank/Erin’s Own never looked back, with points from Sam O' Neill, Mark O' Brien (3) and Mark Shanahan extended the lead.
Ferrybank/Erin’s Own were now dominant in all areas, and with 10 minutes remaining John Ahern turned his man and struck the ball low into the net. Further scored from John, Sam, Robbie, and the impressive Mark O' Brien had them in the driving seat. Credit to Mount Sion however who battled away and scored two late goals to reduce the gap, but with the last play of the game, another impressive move saw John Ahern score his second goal with another fine strike to leave it 2-22 to 2-12 at the finish.
An excellent display from the team, particularly in the second-half, and no doubt the lads can look forward with confidence to the final where they take on the holders De La Salle next Sunday (November 27th) at 2pm in Walsh Park.

PANEL: Jono Brown, David Atkins, John Frampton, Stephen Long, Craig Browne, MJ Sutton (0-01), Jamie Knox, Mark O' Brien (0-09), Gavin Jacob, Mark Shanahan (0-02), Sam O' Neill (0-03), Jeff Lawless, John Ahern (2-01), Robbie Carew (0-02), Eoin Daly (0-04), Tiernan Morrissey, Daniel Coady, Ross Kennedy, Sam Robinson, Alex Kinsella, Jack Wicks.

Our annual night at the dogs took place in Kilcohan Park last Saturday night, and it turned out to be another great night. A large crowd from the village made their way over, and enjoyed the thrills and spills of greyhound racing, with a lot of close finishes on the night.
The main gate prize on the night, which was kindly sponsored by Harvey Travel, was won by Maria Forristal, with Jim Jackman winning the attic stairs courtesy of Murphy & Larkin Carpentry, with John Hassett, Mickey Organ and Chris Hoban also claiming prizes.
A huge effort goes into this night, and the club is very grateful to the people who purchased tickets, nominated a dog on the night, our sponsors, and to those who advertised in our programme, and we would ask everyone to support our sponsors and advertisers.
Also thanks to Carl Pallas and his staff at Kilcohan Park for their assistance in organising this event. Once again, thanks to everyone, and roll on 2017.