Thursday, October 29, 2015

John J. Murphy Eastern Junior Football Championship Semi-Final Result

John J. Murphy Eastern Junior Football Championship semi-final
Ferrybank 3-08 De La Salle 2-05

Ferrybank qualified for the Eastern Junior Football final by virtue of a six points win over a sticky DLS side.
Playing with the wind, DLS got the first score before Robbie Carew left footed the ball to the net for Ferrybank's opening score. This score seemed to settle the team and points from Keith Power (free) and Luke Flynn put us in control.
Oisín MacCathmhaoil finished to the net midway through the half to put us in a commanding position, leading 2-02 to 0-02 at the short whistle and playing with the wind in the second-half.
DLS were back in this game early in the second-half scoring 1-1 without reply, but points from substitute Kevin Roche and Keith Power steadied the ship going into the final quarter.
Greg Murphy thundered into the game with 3 sublime points. Sam Lawless came on to score his trademark goal to put the issue beyond doubt. DLS had the final say with a late goal.
The Eastern Final is due to take place on Sunday next November 1st in Walsh Park at 2.30 against hot favourites Roanmore, who beat Bunmahon by 23 points in the other semi-final.

Martin Freeman, Nicky Ryan, Pat O'Neill, Alex Kinsella, Seamus Burtchaell, Damien Ahern, Graham Coady, Luke Flynn (0-1), Cormac O'Driscoll, Liam Óg Carey, Oisín MacCathmhaoil (1-0), Tiernan Morrissey, Robbie Carew (1-0), Greg, Murphy (0-3), Keith Power (0-3), Kevin Roche (0-1), Sam Lawless (1-0), Dean Phelan, Cian MacCathmhaoil, Paul Carew, Alex Power.